a cakey force to be reckoned with! and a darn tasty pie in the background, to boot.

This past week has been exhausting. Yes, fun and eventful, but now you’re finding me cozied up on the couch watching You’ve Got Mail and not even thinking about knitting.

See, last week, my dude had a birthday. One of those milestone birthdays that deserves (dare I say requires?) lots of celebrating. In fact, I don’t even think we’re done celebrating yet… but that’s not my point. So I planned out a homemade dinner with all the fixins for the actual day, and he decided to throw a dinner shindig at his place with friends over the weekend.

“Of course, I’ll help you,” I said. “Whatever you need,” I said. “And I’ll bake your birthday cake,” I said.

Apparently, I forgot about the baby shower I was attending the day after the party. The one where I planned to give a hand knit baby blanket as my gift. The blanket was barely half knitted when I made these promises. But I don’t like cutting corners.

So off I went to find the perfect cake recipe (did I mention that I don’t bake?) and of course found myself searching Smitten Kitchen. Girlfriend knows whats up. And with the help of some friends, I baked the most intensely chocolatey devil’s food cake ever. But the suggested icing seemed… not right. So I rang my mom, who gave me the world’s most perfect, fluffy yet crunchy and not cloyingly sweet icing recipe, so I’ll share it here with you.

The Perfect White 7-minute Frosting That You’ll Want to Use on All the Things

2 egg whites
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/3 cup water
1/4 tsp cream of tartar (this is the magic ingredient!)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Combine egg whites, sugar, water & cream of tartar in metal bowl. Mix for 1 minute with electric beater on high. Place bowl on top of pot of boiling water (be sure bottom of bowl doesn’t touch the water) & beat for 7 minutes with electric beater on high. Remove from double boiler, add vanilla & beat for additional 2 minutes. Ta-da! Perfect, glossy frosting.

Luckily, I finished the baby blanket and ended up with only slightly claw-like hands, had a few days off from work (one planned, the other weather-induced), and another weekend is in sight. The only bad part of the week was learning that my dude’s roommates ate all the cake leftovers. But I guess you can’t win ’em all.

