Scone, cappuccino, and yarn – otherwise known as a perfect morning.

I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again: I haven’t forgotten all of you. I took a bit of a hiatus from blogging, as well as knitting – and this is the first real, long-term, barren period in my knitting lifetime. Has my love for fibre or wooly beasts or knitting designers waned at all? Not a bit. Have I kept up with happenings on podcasts, blogs, magazines, and the like – yes, most definitely, and I’m gleaning plenty of inspiration. But for whatever reason, I had little to say here and little desire to make things, so I figured a radio silence was the best way to go about it.

Since we last talked, my knitting time has been erratic at best, and mostly nonexistent. I got in some sessions with @mizelissa, which always includes yarn in some capacity, even if only to show one another our WIPs before pouring another glass of wine. I spent some quiet days in coffee shops, alone and with friends, in Baltimore and the district, with needles and yarn. I’m aiming to make this a more regular occurrence – a little time with my needles and my thoughts can be a grounding and meditative anchor to my schedule.

What have I been focusing on in the last few months? Everything else. Like completely settling into my new place. Getting a handle on my job. Revisiting old books. Staying out too late. Improvising in the kitchen. Meeting new people. Making friends. Frolicking around the city. Now that DC is feeling like my home and I’m happy with my place in life, I’m finding myself ready to turn back to the needles.

So, the knits took a backseat, but all isn’t lost. I have a lot of works in progress, ideas for future designs, a yarn stash the size of a winnebago, and a queue backed up to the hilt – but what does it matter? I feel energized and ready to actively pursue the joys in my life… and I’m taking it one stitch at a time.

