Untitled, Christopher Wool, photographed at MoMA

Well, it looks like some things are a-changing in the land of pleasant knitting known as [bmore crafty]. I have a new job! I’m excited and optimistic about what lays ahead, including my relocation to DC in the coming weeks. (And despite my friend Walt’s excellent suggestion to change the blog’s name to DCidedly Crafty, I’ll be sticking with the original for now.) Baltimore is my hometown and my first love, and being so close means there’s ample opportunity for spending time with family and friends there, but I’m moving into another phase of life and looking forward to further exploring my new city. I hope to share some of that here with you, too.

I’ve been blogging for several years now. I started in grad school to give myself a bit of a creative outlet when I was tired of thinking about cataloging, taxonomies and reference interviews. I’ve always tried to be honest and open here. And I am, but only about certain parts of my life – mainly the yarny ones. And don’t get me wrong – the yarn is pretty damn important to me – but it’s not the whole view.

What I’ve neglected to mention is that it has been a rough couple of years for me, both personally and professionally. I lost some folks who were incredibly dear to me. I found myself very sick with little idea of where to turn. And I was floundering professionally without an inkling of a plan. This cycle of events left me less than confident. My life was at a standstill. I was unhappy and completely stuck.

Somehow, this little blog carried me through a lot of it. Knowing I could always come here and find community, support, and encouragement was so meaningful. I’ve had the pleasure of meeting some of you in person, but most of you, I’ve never met. You’ve written me lovely emails and messages on Ravelry. You’ve given me great words of kindness on Twitter. You made me fall in love with knitting through your creativity, your talent, your passion, but mostly, through your goodness to one another.

I’m also indebted to the people in my everyday life – the friends and acquaintances who asked me challenging questions, led me on new adventures, listened to my stories, shared laughter and too many glasses of wine; and a family who loves one another fiercely and protectively, unafraid to give you the tough answers when you least want to hear them. Those words and actions won’t be soon forgotten.

But to all you crazy, crafty people here: Thank you! When things felt at their worst, I could always come here and feel like a Knitter (yes, with a capital K). So here’s to a new chapter with piles of yarn, the occasional knitting failure, and lots of cake to share when they happen. And I promise my next post will make up for the lack of sentimentality with plenty of crafty progress.

Happy knitting!!
xx

