I have no idea what happened to the rest of July… but yes, August has arrived, so in case you’ve forgotten – the Small Knits Along began yesterday! This being a pressure-free KAL, take your time and pick a knit (or ten) at your leisure. Share your project ideas and selections by tweeting them with the #skkal hashtag. And please remember that if your tweets are protected, I won’t be able to see them, despite the tagging, in which case, say hello to me @rachellynnec.

In honor of the Small Knits Along, I already have one off of the needles! My Norie hat is finished and looks super cute (even if I look like a bit of a goober).

My Norie

I cast on two SKA projects already – String Theory Scarf and Cladonia. And I can already think of others I want to begin. Yes… startitis may have gotten me. And I did promise a few project suggestions to get the ball rolling, so I’ll share a few *free* patterns with you that have been on my radar. Check them after the jump!

Summer Flies by Donna Griffin

Maybe you’re feeling like a light, lacy shawl will get your needles clicking. What about Summer Flies? Despite being worked in DK or worsted weight, it looks incredibly airy. Not to mention, a heavier gauge will knit up extra quickly. I imagine this one would be gorgeous in a silk blend or cotton pima with a nice sheen. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy, maybe a Citron or Holden Shawlette will do the trick?

Fountain of Love Cowl by Kim Degener

Perhaps you should start with a cowl to gear up for the forthcoming autumn weather. I imagine that Kim Degener’s Fountain of Love Cowl would look amazing in a hand-dyed fingering or sock weight yarn peeking out of a blazer. If you’re thinking of using a chunkier weight, popular patterns like the GAP-tastic Cowl or the Wham Bam Thank You Lamb! Neckwarmer might be more your style. I also have the Snood Cloque queued for some stashbusting, but keep in mind that this pattern is in (easily translated) French.

Fallberry Mitts by Anne Hanson

With all this knitting, you’ll want to keep those hands warm with a pattern like the Fallberry Mitts. This pattern just screams autumn to me, with a deep textured pattern that nearly looks cabled. Yet another great stashbuster that takes less than 200 yards of sport weight yarn. If these aren’t screaming out to you, try some old favorites like Susie’s Reading Mitts or Bella’s Mittens. If colorwork inspires you, the geometric patterning in the Kuelap Fingerless Mitts really caught my eye.

Thorpe by Kirsten Kapur 

To me, there’s no quicker knit than a hat. Why not break out some fun colors and knit up a solid or patterned Thorpe? The brighter the better! Okay, but maybe earflaps aren’t your style. Slouchy tams like the Meret, Rikke Hat, and Winter Slouch are classic, flattering shapes. And of course I have to give another shout-out to the Garfunkel Hat, the pattern that started it all!

And finally, don’t forget to share your progress pictures with me. Tweet me, email me, PM me on ravelry, and what have you. I’ll be sharing the first round of Small Knits Along photos next week, along with more pattern ideas throughout the KAL.

Fyi – All photographs in this post are property of their respective designers/photographers.

