If you live practically anywhere in the United States, you’re likely experiencing a massive heat wave. Stepping out of my front door in Baltimore, it feels like walking into a hot sponge. Despite this, I’m on a crazy knitting binge at the moment. Patterns are consuming nearly all of my thoughts (likely thanks to plans for the Small Knits Along), but I’m combating the urge to knit all the things and instead trying to work on the two main projects on my needles. Check  them out, along with some local music, after the jump!

The completed front of my Loop Entrelac Tank

First off, the Loop Entrelac Tank – I’m finished the front piece and just cast on for the back a few days ago. So yes, I’m a little behind on the KAL… again. I have high hopes that I’ll catch up. I just finished the ribbed back panel and began the stocking stitch portion. I need to start seaming so the pieces will line up properly. Then I only need to worry about weaving in a few ends and doing a crocheted edge on the bottom of the tank. I’m a little concerned since I basically never crochet, but I’m interested in adding some new techniques to my repertoire, so we’ll see what happens!

The ribbed back panel of the tank top, in progress

Excuse the poor lighting in this mediocre photo of my Herbivore progress

I also have an Herbivore on the needles that I haven’t yet shared with you. This is a real pleasure to knit. I’m using MadelineTosh Tosh Merino Light, gifted to me by the incredibly awesome Miss @killerlashes. They couldn’t have been more accurate naming this yarn “light” – it’s a lofty single-ply that feels both light as a feather and impossibly warm. The pattern is fun and slightly complicated, which keeps me interested. I flew through the first section in several days time and am looking forward to having another finished knit soon.

What’s on your needles this week? And as always, check out more WIP Wednesday bloggers over at Tami’s Amis.

Happy knitting!!
xx

PS – Today’s title refers to a song by a little Baltimore band called Wye Oak… who just made their television debut on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon this week. Check out an acoustic version of Hot as Day below, and tell me what you think!

