I don’t know if I’d be such a voracious knitter if it weren’t for Twitter. Of course, Ravelry is our home base on the interweb, but Twitter is where I met my knitting family. So it makes sense that the impetus for my first knit-along was with some chatter over the tweets.

Really, it all started with a hat: the Garfunkel Hat, a new pattern from the Tunney Wool Company. It’s slouchy, with a classic fair isle design and a pom-pom on top. Add a musically-inclined name like Garfunkel to it, and you’ve got me on board. @knitandcompany tweeted this pattern last week, and it got around pretty quickly. Soon enough, I had to make a little joke about a knit-along, and everyone was on board.

Garfunkel Hat, photo © Tunney Wool Company

But instead of a simple Garfunkel Hat KAL – because why would I make my life easy? – we put out the suggestion of a Small Knits Along. Lots of us complain about not having enough hats, cowls, mittens, and shawls to keep us warm during the colder months. Not to mention, it’s a great way to get a jump start on the holiday gifts you’ll inevitably want to make. And, if you’re looking to bust some stash, small projects are the perfect way to go!

So here are all the details you need to know about the Small Knits Along:

The KAL begins on August 1st. This is a pressure-free knit along. We aren’t following a specific set of patterns or setting any deadlines in place at the moment. All you need to do to participate is knit an accessory – scarf, hat, shawl, headband, wristers, mittens, cowl, whatever you want. Share your progress on Twitter by adding the #skkal tag to your tweets. Add the “sskal” tag to your Ravelry project page, if you’d like. Or email me your progress photos. I will post on bmore crafty every Monday with photos of your Small Knits Along projects. In the meantime, I’ll be writing posts with pattern ideas – so feel free to share your suggestions with me via Twitter or PM on Ravelry.

Many of you have already contacted me on Twitter and Google+  to say that you’ll be participating, and I’ve got you on the list. If you’d like to join us on the Small Knits Along, please leave me a comment here on the blog, or contact me through one of the aforementioned sites so you’ll be included in the public roster on bmore crafty.

ps, Watch this space for pattern ideas, some updates on my own knitting progress, and a product review. A bumper week ensues!

