I’ve never really tried embroidery before. I did a bit of cross stitch when I was a kid, but I got fickle and probably switched back to my rock collection in a week’s time, as children are wont to do. In an effort to have some cooler summertime crafts (temperature wise, of course) and to give my hands a rest from the knitting needles, I got myself a Sashiko embroidery sampler, needles, thread, and a thimble – all for the price of a skein of Malabrigo. I like the fact that I could get started and didn’t really need to learn much – there are no complicated stitches and no embroidery hoop necessary. With a little help from The Purl Bee and an awesome tutorial on making quilter’s knots from Heather Bailey, I was out of the gate!

Sashiko sampler progress

Stitching these flowing, symmetrical lines is actually quite relaxing… until you stab yourself in the fingertip with a sharp needle. I’m not sure what the final product will be once I’ve completed the sampler – either I’ll mat and frame it for the wall or sew it into a cushion for my sofa. What would you do?

I also just finished up my Daybreak following a bit of a knitting disaster that I’ll explain later. In the meantime, here’s a sneak peek of the squishy soft striped goodness.

Hello, Daybreak!

What’s on your needles for the weekend? Do you have any plans for International Knit in Public Day on June 11?

Happy knitting!!
xx

