I have barely knitted in weeks. I look at the knitting bag, but nothing calls me to move the needles. My two shawls are still patiently waiting on the needles, are both are rather close to being completed. I suppose their initial spark has faded since the rows are getting longer and longer. Seriously, why can’t triangular shawls begin at the long end and get smaller? They’d fly off of the needles.

I have a bit of a wandering eye. There are so many summer projects that are appealing to me this year! I haven’t been much interested in summer knits in the past – cotton yarns I had worked with weren’t great quality or were too heavy for warmer temps, patterns seemed too fiddly, and I had no plans of crocheting myself a bikini. But my mind began to change with the Knitscene Summer 2011 issue. There are some fantastic, classic tees and cardis in there that I’ll probably knit in the future.

But for some reason, my brain is hooked on knitting some lacy tote bags. For one thing, they’re knit in relatively inexpensive cotton, which doesn’t bother my hands to knit with. They’re knit on larger gauge needles, which makes for quick projects. They’re handy to toss in your purse for those summer days when you stumble upon farmer’s markets and the like. And they’re just plain cute.

Rue Mouffetard Bag, Elisa’s Nest Tote, and Dejeuner Bag

Also on my mind is a hip tank top from an awesome knit designer, teacher, and fabulous twitter pal of mine, Allyson, better known as The Sweatshop of Love. The Loop Entrelac Tank is an adorable summer piece – easily throw it on under a blazer during the day and then bare those shoulders in the evening when you’re feeling a little more sassy. The a-line silhouette is flattering to lots of body types. Plus, it integrates entrelac, which is in my opinion a severely under-used knitting technique. Allyson is running a summer knits KAL starting at the beginning of June that will include this pattern, so join in on the fun!

The Loop Entrelac Tank Top

How do you combat bouts of knitting monotony? Do you often get the knitter’s wandering eye or do keep your head down and plow through those projects already on the needles? Are there any interesting patterns striking your fancy this season? Tell me all about ’em!

Happy knitting!!
xx

Fyi – All photographs in this post are property of their respective designers/photographers.

