So, I mentioned a weekend trip in my last post… and I’m back from a quick excursion to Manhattan for wandering about, shopping, and eating with some girlfriends. But the reason I’m reporting back to you is all because of my visit to PurlSoho! I haven’t been to Purl since their relocation to Broome Street. The new space is a doozy – open, modern, and full of light. The walls are lined with yarn and fabrics, with tables of notions and needles and little goodies all over. I’ll admit that I miss the coziness of the original shop, but the Broome Street storefront is incredibly alluring.

Well, hello Purl!

And although I’m trying to stay away from making purchases before MS&W, I couldn’t leave without a few little souvenirs, right? I snagged two skeins of Koigu Kersti Merino Crepe for an autumnal colored Albers Cowl with some stash yarn, a few skeins of Blue Sky Cotton for a springtime cowl, some awesome Baggu pouches for notions and projects, and a little tape measure because I couldn’t help myself. And I spent a bit less than I had budgeted for, so yay!

I also have to mention the food: We did a great job finding great food (at good prices) on the fly. Thanks, phones with internet! We had bellinis and frittatas for brunch at Aurora Soho from their $15 brunch menu. We were perfectly happy with everything there and it gave us loads of energy for our wanderings through Soho, Greenwich Village, West Village, and Chelsea.  Pinto in the West Village didn’t disappoint for our thai dinner. Their “sunset special” included a drink, appetizer, and entree for $15 – I chose the house white, chicken satay, and smokey soy noodles. I love finding cozy restaurants, and we did an amazing job this time around.

So what about you – do you like to hit the yarn shops while traveling or are you more about relaxing? Where is your favorite out-of-town shop located?

Happy knitting!
xx

