No, my Christmas knits were not late… but this post certainly is. Blogging was interrupted by knitting and holidaying and family and friends. I hope you all had a magnificent end to 2010 and are setting out plans for the year ahead. I have some big ones in mind, but in the meantime, here are the knits I’ve gotten off the needles since you heard from me last.

Dad’s Christmas Hat: Impossibly simple and knitted in Paton’s Classic Wool. I improvised a few stripes to match one of his winter jackets. Also must mention that this hat pattern, from Last Minute Knitted Gifts is best suited for gents with a big head (literally, not figuratively) – so it suits my papa perfectly. 🙂

Ravel it!

Best Friend Cowl: A knitted commission in Rowan Felted Tweed. I used some of my favorite vintage buttons on this to give the simple scarf pattern a fun twist. The lace pattern is easy to memorize and knits up quickly.


Ravel it!

Brother’s Christmas Hat: Another easy, manly hat in Paton’s Classic Wool. The Turn a Square pattern is a go-to for a deceptively impressive gift. Used solid colors this time around, but again, it matches his winter coat quite nicely.


Ravel it!

Mom’s Lacy Christmas Cowl: A new #stashbustarmy project in one of my new favorite yarns, Lion Brand Nature’s Choice Organic Cotton. Impossibly soft and squishy, I held the yarn doubled to equal a bulky weight. The color is lovely and I added one of my favorite vintage buttons from my stash to top it off. Mom has worn it countless times already, so I know it was a winner.


Ravel it!

Now, I’m focused on a new year of knits with some yarny resolutions, a few knit-alongs in store, stashbusting, and a something already off the needles. Lots to share in the coming days, but what has been in your crafty sights lately? I want to hear all about it.

Happy knitting!
xx

